Do not show this message again

Corporate information

Board of Directors

Antonio Sáinz de Vicuña


Antonio Sainz de Vicuña y Barroso (Barcelona, 1948) has been a member of CaixaBank's Board of Directors since 2014.

He earned his degree in Law and Economic and Commercial Science from Universidad Complutense in Madrid (1971), and then studied a postgraduate course with a final dissertation on European and International Law. He also holds a Diploma in International Law from Pembroke College, Cambridge University. He was awarded a grant from the Juan March Foundation.

In 1974, he became a State Attorney acting as a legal advisor to the Ministries of Finance, Economy and Foreign Affairs between 1974 and 1989. From September 1989 to November 1994 he was the Chief International Legal Counsel of Banco Español de Crédito in Madrid. Between November 1994 and June 1998, he was General Counsel at the European Monetary Institute (EMI) in Frankfurt, the body entrusted with the preparatory work for the launch of the euro. He then worked at the European Central Bank from June 1998 to November 2013, where he was General Counsel and Director of Legal Services, before retiring at 65 in November 2013.

He is also a founder member of and sat on the first Board of Directors of Asociación Española para el Estudio del Derecho Europeo (Spanish Association for the Study of European Law) (1982-1986); a founder member of the Corte Civil y Mercantil de Arbitraje (1989-1994); founder member and member of the Supervisory Board of the Institute for Law and Finance, Wolfgang Goethe Universität, Frankfurt (2000-2013); founder member and member of the Advisory Board of PRIME Finance (2011-2013); a member the Advisory Board of the European Capital Markets Institute (2000-2013) and a member of the Committee on International Monetary Law (MOCOMILA) (2000-2018).

He has also published a monography on "State Contracts in International Law” Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 1986) and some 30 legal articles in specialist publications. He has been awarded the Order of Isabella the Catholic (1987) for his services in helping Spain join the European Community, and also the Order of Civil Merit (2014) for services provided in the adoption of the Euro and creation of the ECB.

Last updated: December 2018.