Corporate Governance and remuneration policy

Committees of Directors

Comisión de Riesgos

The Risks Committee shall comprise exclusively non-executive directors who possess the appropriate knowledge, skills and experience to fully understand and manage the Bank’s risk strategy and risk propensity, in the number determined by the Board of Directors, subject to a minimum of three (3) and a maximum of six (6), with a majority of members to be independent directors.

The committee will meet as often as necessary to fulfil its duties and will be convened by its Chairman, either on their own initiative or at the request of the Chairman of the Board of Directors or of two (2) members of the committee itself.

Its duties include the following:

  • Advising the Board of Directors on the overall susceptibility to risk, current and future, of the Bank and its strategy in this regard, reporting on the risk appetite framework, helping to monitor implementation of this strategy, ensuring that the Group’s actions are consistent with the level of risk tolerance previously decided and monitoring the appropriateness of the risks assumed and the profile put in place.
  • Proposing to the Board the Group’s risk policy.
  • Determining with the Board of Directors the nature, quantity, format and frequency of the information concerning risks that the Board of Directors should receive and establishing what the committee should receive.
  • Regularly reviewing exposures with main customers, business sectors and by geographic region and type of risk.
  • Examining the information and control processes of the Group’s risk as well as the information systems and indicators.
  • Evaluating regulatory compliance risk within its scope of its remit and decision-making authority, this being understood as the risk management of legal or regulatory sanctions, financial or material loss or any reputational damage the Bank may suffer as a result of non-compliance with laws, rules, regulations, standards and codes of conduct, while also detecting any risk of non-compliance and carrying out monitoring and examining possible deficiencies in the principles of professional conduct.
  • Reporting on new products and services or significant changes to existing ones.

For more information on the Risks Committee and its duties, please see the section on Regulations of the Board of Directors.


Name Position Nature Date of appointment
Eduardo Javier Sanchiz Irazu Chairman Independent February 2018(1)
Fundación CajaCanarias, representada por Natalia Aznárez Gómez Member Propietary 1 February 2018(2)
María Verónica Fisas Vergés Member Independent 22 May 2020
Tomás Muniesa Arantegui
Member Propietary 22 May 2020
Koro Usarraga Unsain Vocal Independent 1 February 2018
Óscar Calderón de Oya Non-director Secretary - 1 January 2017
Óscar Figueres Fortuna First Deputy Secretary (non-director) - 23 October 2017

(1) Reelected on 6 April 2018. Appointed Chairman on 5 April 2019.

(2) On 3 August 2020, Fundación CajaCanarias tendered its resignation as proprietary director to the Board of Directors of CaixaBank due to the termination of the shareholders’ agreement. Fundación CajaCanarias will step down from its position once the ECB verifies the suitability of Carme Moragues Josa, whom the Board has agreed to appoint via co-option as an independent director of CaixaBank.

Head of Risk Management

Name Position Date of appointment
Jordi Mondéjar López Chief Risks Officer 22 November 2016 (1)

(1) Member of the Management Committee since 10 July 2014.