Do not show this message again

Corporate information

Board of Directors

Jose-Antonio Asiáin Ayala

José-Antonio Asiáin Ayala.

Representative of Caja Navarra

José-Antonio Asiáin Ayala

Representative of Caja Navarra

José-Antonio Asiáin Ayala has served as Caja Navarra's representative on the CaixaBank Board of Directors since September 2012.

Born in Pamplona in 1949, Mr. Asiáin Ayala graduated in Law from the University of Navarra in 1971. He was appointed Legal Counsel to Navarra County Council (1974-1979) through a competitive examination process, worked on secondment as Chief Legal Counsel to the Parliament of Navarra (1979-1983) and became Legal Advisor to the Government of Navarra (1983-1984) through a selection process, a post from which he is currently on unpaid leave.

Mr. Asiáin Ayala has been Deputy-president (1984-1991) and Councilor of the Regional  Presidency (1984-1987) and also  of the Regional Economy and Treasury Minister (1987-1991) in the Government of Navarra. During his time in these posts, he was President of the Economic and Social Council, the Board of Cooperation with the Spanish State, the Board for the Transfer of Powers, and the Negotiation Committee responsible for negotiating the current Economic Treaty with the Spanish State.

He has also been a board member of Caja de Ahorros de Navarra (1979-1991) and the Spanish Confederation of Savings Banks (1987-1991). In July 2004, Mr. Asiáin Ayala returned to the board of directors of Caja de Ahorros de Navarra, acting as its Chairman since June 2010.

Since 2003, he has represented the Chartered Community of Navarra as a member of the Board for the Arbitration of the Economic Treaty with the Spanish State.

He has been a member of the Pamplona Bar Association since 1974, and is a founding partner of a law firm (Asiáin, Jiménez & Arredondo) specialized in civil and corporate law, in which he currently works as a lawyer.

Mr. Asiáin Ayala has been a speaker at various conferences and on a number of courses, and has been published in several legal and economic journals.

Last updated: 30 de November de 2012

Back to Board of Directors