

## CaixaBank's Board of Directors appoints José Ignacio Goirigolzarri as executive chairman

- The Board of Directors consists of 15 members, 60% of whom are independent. Women represent 40%.
- The Board of Directors has also agreed to call the Ordinary General Shareholders' Meeting of CaixaBank to be held on the 14<sup>th</sup> May 2021.
- José Ignacio Goirigolzarri: "The Bankia and CaixaBank merger operation is an enormously exciting and ambitious project, as its goal is to lead the transformation of the Spanish banking sector and contribute to the development of Spanish companies and wellbeing of families at all times, especially in the current situation".

## Valencia, 30 March 2021

The new Board of Directors of CaixaBank, Spain's leading bank, has met for the first time today, following the registration of the deed of its merger with Bankia with the Mercantile Registry on Friday 26 March.

At this first meeting, which took place in Valencia, José Ignacio Goirigolzarri has been appointed as CaixaBank's new executive chairman.

Following the meeting, Gorigolzarri said that "the Bankia and CaixaBank merger operation is an enormously exciting and ambitious project, as its goal is to lead the transformation of the Spanish banking sector and contribute to the development of Spanish companies and wellbeing of families at all times, especially in the current situation".

The Board of Directors consists of 15 members, 60% of whom are independent. Women represent 40%.

The composition of the new Board of Directors is as follows: José Ignacio Goirigolzarri Tellaeche (chairman), Tomás Muniesa Arantegui (vice-chairman, proprietary, CriteriaCaixa), Gonzalo Gortázar Rotaeche (CEO), Joaquín Ayuso García (independent), Francisco Javier Campo García (independent), Eva Castillo Sanz (independent), Fernando Ulrich (other







external director), María Verónica Fisas Vergés (independent), Cristina Garmendia Mendizábal (independent), José Serna Masiá (proprietary, CriteriaCaixa), María Amparo Moraleda Martínez (independent), Eduardo Javier Sanchiz Irazu (independent), Teresa Santero (representing FROB controlling shareholders), John Shepard Reed (independent) and Koro Usarraga Unsain (independent).

## **New Management Committee**

CaixaBank's Board of Directors also approved the new composition of the Management Committee proposed on 18 February.

The new CaixaBank Management Committee will be overseen by Gonzalo Gortázar, as CEO of CaixaBank, and will include: Juan Alcaraz (head of retail, business and private banking); Xavier Coll (chief human resources officer), who will leave his position on 1 January 2022, when David López will succeed him; Jordi Mondéjar (chief risk officer); Iñaki Badiola (director of CIB and international banking); Luis Javier Blas (chief operating officer); Matthias Bulach (head of financial accounting, control and capital); Manuel Galarza (head of control and compliance); María Luisa Martínez (head of communications and institutional relations); Javier Pano (chief financial officer); Marisa Retamosa (head of internal audit); Eugenio Solla (chief sustainability officer); Javier Valle (head of insurance); and Óscar Calderón (board secretary and general counsel).

## Ordinary General Shareholders' Meeting, the 14th of May

Finally, the Board of Directors of CaixaBank has agreed to call the Ordinary General Shareholders' Meeting for the 14<sup>th</sup> of May 2021, which, should the public health situation allow, will be held in person in Valencia, and which shareholders will also be able to attend online.



